Lovereading.co.uk

Search
Categories
Pages
Recent Posts
Archives

Christmas book news from Lovereading

With Christmas looming just round the corner, we are determined to make your gift ordering as simple as possible, so that you can get on with organising the celebrations! What’s more, we’ll even save you money too, which will mean an extra roast potato or two on the day! Our special Christmas Gift categories, including some brilliant Stocking Fillers make searching for that perfect present very easy and we will throw in FREE UK postage (2nd Class only) on all orders over £20. Don’t lose sleep over Christmas this year. We’re offering silent nights!

Alex Gray our last, but by no means least, Author of the Month for 2010

Alex Gray’s desire to write has been a slow burning fuse and before she struck gold with her Glasgow based DCI Lorimer series she had been a folk singer, a visiting officer for the DSS, a teacher and a mother.

The chance to fulfill her ambition arrived when illness forced her to quit teaching. She joined a local writer’s workshop and is still an enthusiastic participant. Her books are known for their meticulous research and she has her own network of contacts in the legal professions to help ensure authenticity.

There are now six in the series to discover but we’re sure you’ll be hooked when you read the first – we did warn you…

Our December Guest Editor – the Queen of Contemporary storytelling – Joanna Trollope

Kate Saunders of the Times summed up our Guest Editor brilliantly when she said ‘Trollope is brilliant at swooping on a modern dilemma and showing it from every angle… Inventive, surprising and fascinating’ – and her latest book The Other Family is no exception.

You can discover this and a selection of her previous books, along with some of the books that have influenced or left an impression on her over the years in our Guest Editor section. Find out more…

December Books of the Month – all great last minute gifts (or treats)

Deeper Than the Dead

Tami Hoag

Lovereading view to appear soon…

£5.24 Save 25%

Saints v Sinners

Katie Agnew

Lovereading view to appear soon…

£5.24 Save 25%

1222

Anne Holt

This is crime fiction at its tip top best from one of Scandinavia’s bestselling female crime writers. It’s modern and a pitch-perfect reinvention of the classic locked room mystery….

£9.74 Save 25%

Trade Winds

Christina Courtenay

It’s a real pleasure to read a well written, historically accurate book, that is still a romance novel (at it’s heart!), It makes for such an intellectually and emotionally rewarding read. In Trade Winds we have not one but two…

£5.99 Save 25%

Angels in the Snow

Sarah Morgan

November 2010 Book of the Month.

A wonderfully feel-good novel with a Christmas storyline and one that’s full of romance and sparkle particularly when snowflakes are falling, Christmas carols are ringing out and…

£5.24 Save 25%

And Furthermore

Dame Judi Dench

October 2010 Book of the Month.

Judi Dench fans will read this without recommendation but for others I’d say it’s well worth reading, firstly there’s Judi Dench’s own personality which shines through in…

£15.00 Save 25%

Kitchenella – The Secrets of Women: Heroic, Simple, Nurturing Cookery – for Everyone

Rose Prince

October 2010 Book of the Month.

Shortlisted for the Galaxy Food & Drink Book of the Year 2010.

As a nation we have been hooked on the cooking bug in recent years, with the…

£19.50 Save 25%

Minding Frankie

Maeve Binchy

A great family tale about the power of love and friendships. Noel finds himself left alone to bring up baby Frankie but Noel is a troubled soul himself and when Social Workers start threatening to take Frankie away family and…

£14.24 Save 25%

Dark, dangerous and delicious a ‘Bonkbuster’ Debut – Sin Tropez

If you want a book to distract you from present buying, loved ones and even Strictly or X factor (whichever is your guilty pleasure) this debut – Sin Tropez – by Aita Ighodaro novel is it!

Money, intrigue, sex, hedonism and even a little bit of a conscience – it’s all here.

All we can say is ‘go on you are worth it!’

Keep up to date with the latest book awards

Two big book awards have recently announced winners or shortlists so to make sure you don’t miss out on the latest ‘must read books’ just visit our special Costa Book Awards and Galaxy Book Awards sections.

Each award has multiple sections including fiction, non fiction, debut writing and poetry so there will be something that appeals to everyone.

At the very least you won’t be stuck for conversation at a Christmas party…

Christmas competitions and free prize draws not to miss

The competitions and prize draws on Lovereading are unique and they give our members the chance to win some unique book prizes including Limited Editions and signed copies and this month, as is only fitting we have a bumper crop.

You can win one of 5 copies (worth £30) of the Galaxy award winner One Day by David Nichols in fabulous unabridged audio – we did a quick check and you’d be staggered to hear that if you listened to the abridged (rather than this unabridged version) you’d be missing out 86% of the text!!!

We also have the chance to win a limited edition box set of the heart-stopping millennium trilogy by Stieg Larsson worth £70, but hurry as a lot of the the prize draw close on 30 November.

Enter the prize draws now and find out more about all the amazing prizes up for grabs….

Have you discovered Edwardian Super Sleuth Lady Rose Summer yet?

M. C. Beaton is, to put it mildly, a prolific writer with over 100 published books to her name. This month we have 4 of her series featuring her independent heroine Lady Rose Summer. These books have just the right balance of crime, romance and fun and are a brilliant escape. We also have her latest (21st!) featuring the indomitable Agatha Raisin all set in a very proper 1950’s. The apotheosis of cosy crime – perfect for fans of Midsomer Murders.


We hope you are still finding time to enjoy reading among all the other demands on your time this Christmas and don’t forget to use our ‘oh so useful’ Wishlist to make sure you get the books you want as well.

Share this:
Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter

Trackback this post | Feed on Comments to this post

Leave a Reply