Lovereading.co.uk

Search

New books for February

Welcome to February from Lovereading! Did you know that the King of the thriller, John Grisham was born in February? And where better to find your next reading thrill (or thrilling read!) than on the Lovereading site? Appropriately John has a new thriller Theodore Boone is coming this month – his first for the Young Adult market. It’s good, seriously good.

It’s also Happy Birthday to another February baby Jilly Cooper, according to The Guardian as Queen of the Bonk -buster. Finally, with Valentine’s Day fast approaching, this is a good time to look for a gift for that special someone and we’re here to help with that too with a few choice titles!

Guest Editor – Carmen Reid

Our fashionable Guest Editor this Valentine’s month is journalist, mother and novelist, Carmen Reid. She is the author of a number of fabulous novels and the latest (very aptly named) title, New York Valentine, looks set to join the others on the bestseller lists. Carmen writes with great humour and style, sending up the world of city fashion. Fans of Sophie Kinsella and Sex and the City will adore Carmen and her fabulous protagonist, Annie Valentine.

Carmen’s books are available on the site now and she has also kindly agreed to share with us the books and authors that have inspired and influenced her as a writer – two of which are absolute classics – Gone with the Wind and Love in a Cold Climate.

What’s more you also have the chance to win a mid week break, for you and a friend at the exclusive health spa Champneys…..

Find out more by visiting the Guest Editor section of our site.

Win Big! – Our Mega Book of the Month…

Is none other than the recently announced winner of the 2010 Costa ‘Best Novel’ Award. The Hand That First Held Mine by Maggie O’Farrell is Maggie’s fifth book.

Her Costa winner weaves together the stories of two women who have never met, but whose destinies are linked by secrets, deception and love. Read a Free Opening Extract of this truly superb novel and for your chance to win some signed Maggie O’Farrell books.

Crusaders, Kings and Cults…. February’s Fiction Books of the Month

A Dark Matter

Peter Straub

Top drawer suspense. The characters must face the consequences of their prior involvement with a ritualistic cult and a grotesque murder

£5.24 Save 25%

The Templar Salvation

Raymond Khoury

The search to expose the ancient – and deadly – secrets of Christianity continues in this stunning novel from the author of The Last Templar.

£9.74 Save 25%

Men from the Boys

Tony Parsons

The last in the trilogy which began with Man and Boy sees the happy life of Harry Silver begin to fall apart at the seams and force him to be a real man – however uncomfortable that may be.

£5.99 Save 25%

Frozen Out

Quentin Bates

The discovery of a corpse washed up on a beach in an Icelandic backwater propels village police sergeant Gunnhildur into deep waters and an unfamiliar world of violence and corruption.

£5.99 Save 25%

The Iron King

Julie Kagawa

Meghan is nearly 16 and just like any other girl until she finds out she is the daughter of a faery king and gets embroiled in a faery war. The awesome first book in a great new series.

£5.24 Save 25%

Three Seconds

Anders Roslund, Borge Hellstrom

Just out in paperback. As tense and gripping an edge of seat experience as any novel we can remember reading and perfect for fans of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo!

£5.99 Save 25%

You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me

Sarra Manning

Sexy, romantic romp with a slimmed down Neve finding she is attracting more attention than she expected… and having to deal with the consequences..

£5.24 Save 25%

Time’s Legacy

Barbara Erskine

Ancient secrets buried deep in Glastonbury’s past. And one woman’s quest to finally set them free. A riveting time slip novel.

£5.99 Save 25%

Started Early, Took My Dog

Kate Atkinson

Another outing for Jackson Brodie in Atkinson’s next crime novel. She seems to really be getting in to her stride with this series

£5.99 Save 25%

The Long Song

Andrea Levy

A sensitive story told through the eyes of a young girl enslaved on a Jamaican plantation in the 1800s. Mesmerising, and moving this is another gem of a book.

£5.99 Save 25%

Political Duelling and the Holy Land… Our Non Fiction Books of the Month

Choose Your Weapons

Douglas Hurd

A considered and characterful examination of the conflict between liberal interventionism and conservatism over the last two centuries, from Canning and Castlereagh to Eden and Bevin.

£9.74 Save 25%

Reading on Location : A Guide to Great Books Set in the World’s Top Destinations

Luisa Moncada and Scala Quin

A brilliant book to refer to whether you’re going off travelling for real or just in your armchair as it links regions and cities made famous by both well-known and cult books.

£6.74 Save 25%

Faulks on Fiction

Sebastian Faulks

Accompanying a four-part television series, this remarkable book sees Sebastian Faulks examining some of Fiction’s most enduring characters.

£15.00 Save 25%

Jerusalem The Biography

Simon Sebag Montefiore

The epic story of 3,000 years of Jerusalem, faith, fanaticism, slaughter and coexistence, told through the lives of the peolpe inhabited it. A brilliantly objective read.

£18.75 Save 25%

1000 Years of Annoying the French

Stephen Clarke

A light-hearted but impeccably researched and very readable account of all our great fallings-out. Vive la difference!

£6.74 Save 25%

Romance, Self-Discovery and Alternate Histories – Lovereading Debuts of the Month

A Life Apart

Neel Mukherjee

Orphaned at 22, Ritwik moves from India to England and descends into the hidden world of illegal immigrants in London in this tale of love, loss and isolation.A scalding and engaging novel.


Valentine’s Kiss
Lucie Hart

One swanky house party in France, many handsome men and one perfect, blindfolded kiss: but who delivered it? Will Imogen find her prince?

The Afrika Reich

Guy Saville

Fans of Len Deighton (SS GB) and Robert Harris (Fatherland) shouldn’t miss this cracking ‘alternate history’ novel.

Set in 1952 Africa is now controlled by the Germans after a fiasco at Dunkirk and a British mercenary leads a reckless mission to assassinate one of the SS high command.

Books show you really care

A dozen red roses may be traditional – but cut flowers wilt quickly. Why not be like the Catalans in Spain and give your loved one a book. You will be giving hours of entertainment, escape and enjoyment.

Why not start at our special Valentine’s Selection?

TV Book Club

The TV Book Club is back on Channel 4! Celebrity guests and a panel of presenters, including Jo Brand, Dave Spikey and Ade Edmondson, review and discuss carefully selected books from new and emerging authors. There is one book reviewed per week over 10 weeks until mid March. Right now at Lovereading you can download free extracts from the books to get ahead of the game. Visit the section to discover, and read a Free Opening Extract from each one.

Two engrossing films based on captivating books

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. Our very own Sarah Broadhurst said of the book, “this is a devastating, sad, atmospheric, beautiful novel about wasted lives. I think it is his best since The Remains of the Day, a wonderful book”. The film starring Keira Knightley opens on 11 February.

Brighton Rock by Graham Greene. Sarah Broadhurst said of the book. “I just love this man’s writing. The 17-year old, razor happy gang leader, Pinkie, is one of fiction’s great characters, truly nasty. Despite the dated period, the underlying message is the same today as it ever was. It is perhaps Greene’s greatest book”. The film opens on 4 February starring, among others, Helen Mirren.

Finally, if you have a passion for poetry don’t miss Of Mutability by Jo Shapcott that recently won the highly contested Costa Book of the Year, interestingly the second year in a row when the winner was a book of poetry. The judges said “We were captivated by the poetry in this special, original, compassionate, uplifting and accessible book that readers will go back to again and again.” Discover more today…

So, there we are February’s love-filled bag of books for your enjoyment! Hopefully, we will have whet your appetite to check out the carefully selected titles we’ve chosen this month onLovereading– all of which should keep you happy in your relationship with literature until March.

PS – if you’re a member of a reading group or are thinking about joining one or setting one up with friends and family then remember to check out our ‘reading group’ selections.

Read on to find more book in the categories you have told us you would like to be kept informed about….

Share this:
Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter

Trackback this post | Feed on Comments to this post

Leave a Reply