Lovereading.co.uk

Search
Categories
Pages
Recent Posts
Archives

July e-Newsletter

Graham Greene hailed him “the greatest novelist of my generation”. Hilaire Belloc considered him possessed by the Devil. Either way, we are celebrating the great Evelyn Waugh on the 50th anniversary of his death.

Break open Philip Eade’s new, insightful biography, Evelyn Waugh: A Life Revisited. But if Waugh is not your thing, no problem. There’s something for everyone in our selections this month all with reviews by editorial experts including holiday reads in our hazy, happy, Summer Reading category. PLUS! Win a gourmet getaway in Devon, at the prestigious Horn of Plenty no less, worth £500 to take your new favourite book on! Read on for more.

Words Win Prizes! – Desmond Elliott Prize Winner Announced

Possibly the most coveted prize for UK first novelists, The Desmond Elliott Prize is as characterful as its eponymous patron. A publisher who drank only champagne and resolved passionately to support new writing. Right up our street. The three judges lovingly assessed the hopefuls for a compelling narrative, arresting character and confident storytelling and then chose the simply sensational debut from Lisa McInerney, The Glorious Heresies.

Desmond Elliott Chair of judges Iain Pears said: “We knew we had found a major literary figure of the next generation when we made our choice … Lisa is a genuinely exciting writer – there is electricity running through her prose.”

July Noted! – Books of the Month

July’s bookshelf is a juicy, genre-spanning jamboree of joy! Our favourites are:

The Museum of You by Carys Bray – As moving as it is funny. A heart-warming story of the search for truth and self, from the author of the astounding A Song for Issy Bradley.

Modern Lovers by Emma Straub – A penetrating, witty and very modern look at family, friendships and getting older.

lccmtfdlc
ghfyaffadyaf

That’s a First! – July Debuts of the Month

Often a first novel, crammed as it is with passion and hope and all the ambitions of its writer, is hard to surpass. Catch these new authors at their best! Don’t miss:

The Unseeing by Anna Mazzola – ‘A grizzly tale of murder in Victorian London that will leave you wanting more…An exciting new voice in historical fiction.’ (Reader Reviewer).

Baby Doll by Hollie Overton – Anyone who has enjoyed The Disappearance and Thirteen on the BBC will devour this gritty and captivating thriller.

cwhfdcmtlcyaf

And two great reads published 14 July not to miss…

The Light of Paris by Eleanor Brown – A big-hearted, summer sojourn into self-discovery, from the best-selling author of The Weird Sisters. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

I Found You by Lisa Jewell – Imaginative, illuminating, mind-bending brilliance from one of Britain’s best-sellers! One of our Reader Reviews said ‘I was only disappointed that I needed to break up my reading with a night’s sleep!’

His Maxim is our Maxim – Maxim Jakubowski Recommends

Crime and Sci-Fi guru Maxim Jakubowski has got the wind beneath his wings this month, focusing on the most brilliant books to bung in your beach bag. You won’t find his top tips in the airport shop, but get a copy before you fly. Then sit back, relax and enjoy your summer!

His Book of the Month is The Somnambulist and the Psychic Thief by Lisa Tuttle – Witty, exciting, Victorian crime romp, with a delightfully unlikely detective duo.

And Highly Recommended is Wilde Lake by Laura Lippman – Evocative and delicately paced thriller where crimes from the past just won’t go away.

Love Is All Around – If You Like, You’ll Love

You know what you like. We know a lot of other authors we think you’ll like. We tell you about them. You LOVE them! For instance: fans of The Girl on The Train by Paula Hawkins will love Try Not to Breathe by Holly Seddon, a thriller so taut and thought-provoking, your coffee will go cold! And, you can find out even more about Holly as we were lucky enough to grab a chat with her – check out  the Author Talk section of  our blog.

A Summer Summary – Summer Reading

A book on a beach, park bench or bay window. Summer just lends itself to flights of fancy. Our special category, split into handy ‘moods’, will help you find the perfect accompaniment to however you’re feeling this summer. See some tasters on the shelf below or click here to see the whole range!

Share this:
Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter
Share

Comments are closed.