Lovereading.co.uk

Search
Categories
Pages
Recent Posts
Archives

September eNewsletter

September, the gateway to autumn or summer’s sad end. Whatever your perspective, it’s a month brimming with possibilities and new beginnings. A perfect time to start a new book! It’s the month that in 1993 saw Sebastian Faulks’ masterpiece Birdsong published for the first time and we have been entrenched in a glorious campaign to bring you top titles to inspire and entertain. Read on for more.

Superlative September Selections – Books of the Month

A first-class field of fiction for fans of all persuasions this month. Don’t miss:

Closed Casket by Sophie Hannah – A new Hercule Poirot Mystery. Expertly crafted, gripping murder mystery and the welcome return of those ‘little grey cells’!

The Travelers by Chris Pavone – A complex but pacey ‘hall-of-mirrors’ thriller in the dark world of seduction, cruelty, espionage and death.

cwhcmtrtfad

Bank on Barclay! – Linwood Barclay, Author of the Month

Puns aside, our Author of the Month in September is worth the investment. Of your time. Master of the genre and no.1 bestseller, Linwood Barclay’s novels vibrate with suspense, shock and thrilling anticipation.

The spine-chilling and sometimes salacious Far From True is out in paperback now and will be joined later this month by The Twenty-Three but we have an exclusive opening extract to read right now. See more here.

New Leaves – Debuts of the Month

A flourish of first-timers awaits your fanaticism this month. We love:

A Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart – ‘ … An amazing and authentic story of love, family life and autism … such a heartwarming read.‘ (Reader Review).

The Secret Diary of Hendrik Groen, 83 1/4 Years Old by Hendrik Groen – A refreshing, satirical and witty look at old age with friendship, selflessness and dignity at its heart.

As Weekends Go by Jan Brigden – A warmly compassionate, amusing and very readable story, with extra sprinkles of fairytale sparkle.

Because of You by Helene Fermont – Full of drama this is an interesting glimpse into the recent past, covering a variety of issues, yet is an easy and captivating read.

fdcmtlchrrt

Keep Up with the Downloads! – eBooks of the Month

For all you eReaders and ‘tablet-eers’ out there, we’ve refreshed our list of delectable digital offerings for all types of device. Don’t miss:

The House on Sunset Lake by Tasmina Perry – A stirring and intoxicating story of the lasting legacy of the past, of love and twisted secrets.

Late Holiday? – We’ll Book it! Summer Reading Highlights

Getaway! Not only is our Summer Reading category still live and going strong, but late holiday makers will be thrilled to hear that we are still updating it with great titles to pack in your hand luggage on those September getaways! Try Missing, Presumed by Susie Steiner, a fresh, compelling and addictive crime thriller. More on the shelf below…

Blazing a Tale! – Great Fire of London 350 Years On.
350 years ago London was razed by a devastating fire so impactful that it lives on in our consciousness and folklore to this day. So why not relive it from a new perspective with titles like

The Ashes of London by Andrew Taylor, an enthralling and wonderful historical thriller, where the story absolutely thrives in the midst of one of the most famous times in British history or Fire by C. C. Humphreys, the epic tale of the hunt for a serial killer threatening London’s rich and poor during the Great Fire of London.

Fans of Jojo Moyes and Rowan Coleman take note

Set Me Free by Hina Belitz is a beautiful, unforgettable novel that we think will be devoured by fans of Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and The Memory Book by Rowan Coleman. It shines a gentle light into the shadows of life and shows how when you reach out to the world …it is only a matter of time before the world reaches back.

Hail to the Queen! – The Books of Elizabeth Chadwick

No stranger to fans of historical fiction, Elizabeth Chadwick is the brain behind an immersive and pulse-raising series charting the extraordinary life and loves of Eleanor of Aquitaine. A crusading, powerhouse straddling the thrones of France and England, she started a dynasty of warrior kings and much of our island’s rich history. Eleanor that is. Not Elizabeth. The Autumn Throne brings the series to a powerful and triumphant close, and you can find more about the series and its fabulous author, here.

Scroll down to see more hand-picked selections in the categories you have asked us to keep you up to date with. To change them just log in to your account.

P.S. A Peculiar Picture! – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. Since its publication in June 2011, this offbeat blend of supernatural fantasy and vintage photography has dominated the bestseller lists. Now, film director Tim Burton has worked his magic on this fantastical, surreal, time-defying mystery. Find out more.

Share this:
Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter
Share

Comments are closed.